Remembrance

Remembrance Day

Remembrance Day (Photo credit: Lauren Cathy Turner)

Yesterday was Remembrance Day in the UK. It is the day we remember and honour those who have fallen in war defending our country and we feel thankful for the sacrifice they have made so we could enjoy freedom. For me, this year was special because, as part of my studies into my family tree, I discovered a few weeks ago that my great great grandfather had been killed in the Battle of the Somme in France in World War One. It was a time for me to honour him. Celebrations in my town consist of a march which I was privileged to be able to take part in and then a service at the war memorial which included the laying of wreaths. It was a moving service. A lot of it involved Christian hymns and prayers but that was the religion of those who died in the War and seemed a respectful way to honour them so I didn’t mind singing along. To me, Remembrance Day on the 11th November represents the end of the period when we concentrate on remembering those we have loved and lost that began at Samhain. It takes our focus from local and personal ancestors, to national and international ancestors. For this reason, I think it is important to celebrate this day with the wider community rather than personally, whether it be taking part in Memorial services, holding two minutes silence at 11am or wearing a poppy and being grateful for those who gave their lives so we may enjoy the freedoms we now do.

I finish this post with some words which were read at yesterday’s service…

“They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old: Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn. At the going down of the sun and in the morning, we will remember them.”

One thought on “Remembrance

  1. Pingback: A is for Ancestors | Naturalistic Pantheist Musings

Leave a Reply

