Here we go again….

For goodness sake people! Why do I have to give another rant on this issue? It’s only been six months since I told you to stop it! Who’s silly idea was it to start a series of blog posts on Patheos called “Why I’m “still” a Pagan?” All it’s done is spark an argument between some usually very thoughtful and intelligent people and they seem to be coming up with reasons not to stay a Pagan! We’ve got Wiccans complaining the definition of Paganism is apparently changing, Humanists complaining that Theists are full of wishful thinking and Polytheists calling Humanists “gadfly’s.” Outside of this current spat, there are Hard Polytheists claiming they are some kind of persecuted minority in Paganism now or that they don’t like being in the same religion as Wiccans so therefore don’t want to use the Pagan label anymore. Oh boo hoo! You’re all Pagans! You’re not a persecuted minority within Paganism! And neither Humanists nor Polytheists are persecuting each other. Paganism is a big tent which covers everything from Hard Polytheist Reconstructionists to Humanistic Monists to Wiccan Pantheists. Heathen, Druid, Wiccan, Hellenic, Religio Romana, Religious Naturalists – you are all Pagans! And it’s good that we can all fit in this tent. There is much more that we share in common than there are differences between us. And we need each other – to learn from, to organise with, to have a decent voice in society.  And who cares if there’s a bit of “woo” in the religion – most religions have that. You don’t find Christian fundamentalists claiming they’re no longer Christian because there are Catholics within Christianity, or Theravadan Buddhists claiming they don’t want to be called Buddhists anymore because the Tibetans include some magical practices. Come on people, grow up! And stop this silly insult battle before people’s feelings get genuinely hurt and someone does decide to leave.

 

3 thoughts on “Here we go again….

  1. I am from the “No-label” camp. Every segment of spirituality I’ve been a part of in my past and that’s the WHOLE gamut has “nuggets” I have found that enhance my own walk of spirit. No one is right or wrong – just different. It is those differences that makes us individuals and when we are tolerant, inquisitive and open-minded our differences make us a stronger “one” “all.” Since I’ve shed labels with regard to spirituality it’s like being truly “free” for the first time. I can talk to any walk of faith and not get my panties in a bunch because they don’t think or believe how I do. Matters of the spirit are like a warm blanket that brings comfort and everyone has their own. Who am I to take away someone else’s blanket?!

  2. I am not in a habit of reading Patheos, so it’s funny that you commented on this as I caught these articles last night! I guess my thought is that my draw towards paganism was it’s acceptance. I like one of Joyce and River Higginbotham’s definitions of paganism to be that, generally, pagans believe that we all begin blessed, rather than in sin/in a cursed state. That speaks acceptance to me.
    But I’ve also found lots and lots of pagan writings focusing on the acceptance of who they are and who others are. I did go to bed last night feeling like those writings on Patheos didn’t really have a place, particularly one in which the writer stated that he had no problem telling others that they are wrong to believe in their deity, or this or that of what they believe. That sounds like other religions that I have rejected, that want to put you in some kind of box and you have no place therein if you don’t fit. Those articles are not the acceptance of paganism, and in my opinion have no place on a site that’s meant to reach out and be a medium for growth for other pagans. Indeed, as saymber says in the above comment, who is anyone to take away someone else’s warm blanket? Obviously the original writer (and maybe all the commenters) has some soul searching to do, and it ought to be in a private journal, right?

  3. This is why is it so difficult for Pagans to be taken seriously by other religions and the non-religious alike. We refuse to accept each other and unite. Until we begin to exhibit maturity and unity, we will always be on the outside.

Leave a Reply

