Four years and some changes

Today is a special day because it marks the 4 year “birthday” of this blog. I started the blog in June 2012 as a way to document my spiritual journey and it has been a very interesting ride.

As time has gone by, my spiritual path has changed. I went from being a Christian to an Atheist (prior to starting the blog), to a Naturalistic Pantheist and then to a Pagan. I still consider myself a Pantheist and a Pagan. In particular my interest has been in Druidry and I have joined ADF, the British Druid Order and the New Order of Druids. Over the past few years I have also become interested in Heathenry and I now call myself an Anglo-Saxon Druid, because I combine elements of Anglo-Saxon Heathenry with Celtic Animistic Druidry to create my path. I honour my ancestors, the spirits of nature and the Anglo-Saxon gods.

For a long time I have been a naturalist, viewing the gods as archetypes rather than real distinct beings, but recently I came to the realisation that I fall better into the agnostic camp. I can’t tell you I’ve had religious experiences nor seen scientific evidence to convince me of the reality of the gods, so I can’t say I’m a firm believer in deity. But neither can I dismiss the religious experiences of millions of people around the world, even if science suggests that we should be careful about arguments from personal experience. Therefore I feel it better to simply say, I just don’t know. However, I am going to start acting like they do exist. Why? Because I want to, because I like doing so and because I think it will make me a better person.

Over the next few months you will notice changes to my blog as I move to make it more reflective of my Anglo-Saxon Druid  stance. I’m also still traveling so new blog posts are likely to be intermittent. I have a few blog posts planned including one on Daoism and at least one more on Monasticism which I will hopefully get around to writing soon.

5 thoughts on “Four years and some changes

  1. I will follow with great interest! My path has lead me from a fundamentalist evangelical Christoan childhood up through increasingly liturgical denominations, where ritual and symbol were vibrant communicators, to studies of the Christian mystics, and then Sufi mystics. I found myself studying druidry as I worked on acknowledging , understanding, and honoring my ancestors. I have now left Christianity and embraced druidry and the Goddess, Elen.

  2. I have been drawn to the naturalistic pagan camp, since I was not easy with the beliefs held by many pagans that I found very speculative. However I had a similar problem with many naturalistic pagans over their dismissal of such beliefs. So I’m really an agnostic, since I don’t know. I find the possibility of other realms and beings fascinating and do not dismiss outright such things.

    I have no personal experience here, but know of people of great intelligence and integrity that claim to have such experiences.

    Of course if such things were shown to be scientifically true, they would not be supernatural, but part of the natural order of things.

  3. Religiously I am Christian for Jesus. Spiritually I am Buddhist for Gautama. But my belief system is now founded fundamentally on Pantheism; for my Mother Nature. I wrote a book about her – I eat, sleep, meditate and everything with my Source who alone is Mother Nature. My book is called Nurture Your Being, you can check it out on my page for more details and a preview.

  4. So funny to read your recent post, since I have called myself a “Hopeful Agnostic” for awhile now. I have no idea what the nature of “God” is or if such a consciousness exists, but I enjoy daily gratitude prayers to “My Eternal Mother and Father, the Great Spirit that Binds us All,” and rituals at the new and full moons and the Pagan Wheel of the Year. Doing so makes me stop and remember the important things in life. I also believe in the idea of Prana, Chi, Ki, whatever one calls it, and that may indeed be “God.” Whether or not that “God” or energy has consciousness, I do not know. I have had experiences that made me open to the idea that nature spirits exist, although not in the same form of quaint gnomes and elves that our ancestors recognized. So … there ya go, Hopeful Agnostic.

Leave a Reply

