A New Year

OK, its nine days into the new year but I didn’t really have much to write about on 1st so I’m doing a blog post today.

Since returning from traveling in October, I have felt quite lost inside and unsure where I want to go with my life. I have already achieved the two big dreams I had when I was younger so now I’m not sure what to do, where I want to live, or what I want to get out of life or do for a job (could also be that I’m coming up on my 30th birthday and that’s making me more reflective). I started a new job last week but dislike it already and will look for something else. I think once I get sorted with a job I don’t hate, I will feel more settled and be able to focus on developing some new goals for my life.

awenOne thing I have got clear in my mind though, is the desire to spend the next few years developing my Paganism much more deeply than it has been. I have joined OBOD and the first part of their Bardic course came today – it looks pretty good and hopefully I’ll learn a lot and develop spiritually. I have also restarted doing the NOD Bardic Grade which I had previously started when I first became interested in Druidry. And I plan to begin studying the Generalist Study Path of ADF. So a lot of courses running side by side but hopefully I’ll have time to do them all and learn a lot from them.

I am also trying to add meditation and prayers to my evening routine in order to develop closer relationships with the Kindreds.

After a year of my Paganism having to take a back seat due to travel and the lack of a set address, I want this year to be the year I dive back into things deeply and really grow spiritually. And maybe when I’ve got that foundation set in my life…the rest of it will start falling into place.

8 thoughts on “A New Year

  1. Hi, Matthew, welcome to OBOD. 2017, being a number 1 year is a year for new beginnings and I mean big beginnings, big changes so a good place for you to be as you start on this next part of your journey. I wish you well. Blessed be, Mollie.

  2. Thank you for your post Matthew.

    It’s hard to focus on the reality of our lives when we are surrounded by the pettiness of this culture.
    I too have suffered in this same way & feel what you are saying.

    Happy birthday for your 30th but believe me you already hold those reflections deep within you.

    I came to you via pantheism & feel that so much in what you write.
    Hold that dear to you, the whispers of the trees, the murmuring creeks, the stars in nights midst & the early birds chorus.

    You have a kind & good heart.

Leave a Reply

