Ostara and Ritual 2014

On Thursday it is the great feast of Ostara, the feast of awakening. As I am working through the ADF Dedicant Path course this year, I am again using a ritual from ADF Solitary Druid Fellowship. A Naturalistic Pantheist ritual can be found on my ritual page here. I will be using the following in the “explanation” part of the ADF ritual but this can also be used for the Naturalistic Pantheist one too.

When it reaches the “Explanation” section, I do the following…

Say: “As I stand here on this celebration of Ostara, the vernal equinox, the sacred wheel of the year continues to turn. As my ancestors did in times before and my descendants may do in time to come, I honour the old ways. As the dark half of the year comes to a close at this time and nature shifts, the day and night are of equal length and balanced. From now on the sun triumphs over the darkness, bringing warmth and energy as we head towards summer. This is the time of Alban Eiler, the Light of the Earth, a feast to celebrate the renewal of life. The birds return from the southern lands bearing spring time beneath their wings. Nature has awoken, seeds are sprouting, tree buds are bursting, daffodils and flowers are blossoming, and birds and animals are preparing to have their young. I rejoice in the renewal of life.”

daffodils1

6 thoughts on “Ostara and Ritual 2014

  1. Pingback: Spring Equinox | Humanistic Paganism

  2. Pingback: Spring Equinox | Humanistic Paganism

  3. Pingback: The Spring Equinox Approaches… | Humanistic Paganism

  4. Pingback: The Spring Equinox Approaches… - ElfDirect.com

Leave a comment